Government and Politics Top Stories

Candidates file for Crisfield mayor, council


In the non-partisan elections scheduled to be held on 18 June, the voters of Crisfield city will have to opportunity to select 1 Mayor from the six contestants and 3 city council members from 7 applicants.

The city officials said that Charles Lehrer, Irving Saltz and Tina Thorne, City Councilman Kim Lawson, Terry Dize, and Jordan Bo Joyner are the candidates who have applied for the Mayor seat.  The winner of this election will replace two-term selected Mayor Percy J. Purnell who had already said that he would retire from city politics for running for the District 38A seat in the House of Delegates.

Presently, the city council seats are being held by Raymond Anderson, Lawson, and Mark Konapelsky. It is said that Konapelsky is the only candidate who has applied for the re-elections. On the other hand, the candidates who have applied for the city council seats are Anthony Jackson, Charles Lehrer III, David Marquis, Charlotte Scott, Paul Eric Emely, and Cindy Freeman.

It goes without saying that LaVerne Johnson and Mike Atkins – the city council members- will not need to compete for elections until 2016.

The annual remuneration for city council members in Crisfield – which have not been increased since 1991- are $2,500 for council members, 3,000 for council vice president and $4,000 for the mayor.

The residents of the city have been directed to register their votes until June 3 for participating in the upcoming city elections.

Forms can be obtained from Crisfield City Hall or from the Somerset County Board of Elections in Princess Anne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *